The NITLE Advisory Board 2011–2013

NITLE’s advisory board provides strategic advice to the executive director and organization as a whole. The board has a direct, positive impact on the advancement of liberal education. Members are drawn from a variety of leadership roles within higher education and beyond and include campus presidents, chief academic and information officers, university and college librarians, faculty members, directors of academic, instructional, or technology initiatives and centers, leading researchers, and leaders from strategically allied organizations and corporations. Board members meet twice per year and serve terms of two years.


NITLE Advisory Board Members, 2011 – 2013

  • Dr. Lori Bettison-Varga, President, Scripps College
  • Dr. Thomas Burkdall, Director, Center for Academic Excellence, and Associate Professor, English Writing, Occidental College
  • Dr. Gardner Campbell, Director, Professional Development and Innovative Initiatives, Learning Technologies, and Associate Professor of English, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech)
  • Dr. Katie Conboy, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Stonehill College
  • Dr. Paul Courant, University of Michigan Librarian and Dean of Libraries, Harold T. Shapiro Collegiate Professor of Public Policy, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Economics and of Information, University of Michigan
  • Dr. Richard Detweiler, President, Great Lakes Colleges Association
  • Mr. Richard Fyffe, Samuel R. and Marie-Louise Rosenthal Librarian of the College and Associate Professor, Grinnell College
  • Dr. Bryon Grigsby, Senior Vice President and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Shenandoah University
  • Dr. Charles J. Henry, President, Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR)
  • Dr. Richard Holmgren, Chief Information Officer, Associate Professor of Mathematics, and Associate Dean of the College, Allegheny College
  • Mr. Eric Jansson, Senior Education Advocate, SMART Technologies
  • Mr. Clay Jenkinson, Director, The Dakota Institute
  • Dr. Robert W. Karr, Consultant (biotechnology industry) and past President, Idera Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 
  • Mr. Michael Keller, Ida M. Green University Librarian, Director of Academic Information Resources, and Publisher of HighWire Press and Stanford University Press, Stanford University
  • Dr. Carol S. Long, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, State University of New York at Geneseo
  • Dr. Michael A. (Mickey) McDonald, Provost, Kalamazoo College
  • Dr. Jerome McGann, John Stewart Bryan University Professor, University of Virginia
  • Dr. Tracy Mitrano, Director of Information Technologies Policy and the University Computer Policy and Law Program, Cornell University
  • Mr. Kenneth Pflueger, Executive Director, Information Technology Services, and Chief Information Officer, Pomona College
  • Dr. Terrel Rhodes, Vice President for Quality, Curriculum and Assessment, Association of American Colleges and Universities
  • Dr. Brian Rosenberg, President, Macalester College
  • Dr. David Wedaman, Director for Research and Instruction Services, Brandeis University
  • Dr. David S. Wood, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the College, Wofford College